Late to School

Scan 5.jpeg

One glory morning, Meng Tat and I were going to school on foot. Along the way, we chatted happily. As we were walking, we passed by a rambutan tree full of ripe and juicy rambutans. As it was still early, Meng Tat suggested to climb up the tree to pluck the fruits. I disagreed at first but after much coaxing, I gave in eventually.

Without wasting any more time, Meng Tat and I took off our shoes and climbed up the rambutan tree with much care. We plucked the fruits cheerfully and put them into their bags. We were happily counting the rambutans we had collected. Looking at their filled bags, both of us were contented. We could not wait to share the rambutans with our beloved friends.

Suddenly, I realised that we were late for school. We instantly picked up our bags and rushed to school. Despite how fast we ran, it was already 8.00 a.m. by the time we entered the classroom. Our Mathematics teacher, Mr Phoon, was as angry as a wasp. He demanded an explanation. We honestly confessed that we had been plucking rambutans. Mr Phoon scolded us for misbehaving and made us clean up the classroom during recess as a punishment.

From the incident, I leant a few good lessons. First and foremost, I realised that I should not take things that do not belong to me as honesty is the best policy. Doing so would make me an dishonest person. Besides, I learnt to respect our teachers regardless how hard they punished me. They may be strict at time but their main intention is to ensure we perform better academically. 

(275 words)

This entry was posted in PT3 Essays. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment