Recount: Picnic

Dear Diary,

Last Sunday, my family and I went to Templer Park Waterfall for a picnic. Father decided to take us there because he knew I loved to swim in the cool water.

The weather was good that day. It was such a relaxing moment to enjoy our meal surrounded by nature. I especially enjoyed the waterfall and bird chirping sounds.

Suddenly, we heard a terrifying scream of a little girl. Instinctively, we turned to the direction where the scream came from. To our horror, we saw a girl struggling in the middle of the pool. She was drowning and trying her best to stay afloat.

Without second thought, father jumped into the pool and swam towards the girl to rescue her. The girl was crying. Her whole family thanked my father for saving her life.

After the incident, Father told us that we should not go into the water if we do not know how to swim. He also advised us not to swim too far even if we knew how to swim, for safety reasons. It is wise to tell our parents before we go for a swim.

I was relieved to know that the girl was safe and felt very proud that my father had saved her. I should take up more swimming lessons from him and be able to save people from drowning next time.

This entry was posted in PT3 Essays. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment